Ecosystems and Landscape Ecology
Area of Emphasis

Graduate Group in Ecology
University of California, Davis

In Memory of Emily Schwalen: The Emily Schwalen Memorial Fund

Aloha `oe Emily -- e ho`omaha me ka maluhia.

The Ecosystems and Landscape Ecology Area of Emphasis (E&LE-AOE) within the Graduate Group in Ecology (GGE) is designed to meet the needs of students who wish to earn a Masters or PhD degree in the study of ecological processes at scales between populations/communities and the globe, typically of larger spatial areas at the macro-level of organization.


Information Index

What is Ecosystem and Landscape Ecology?
Related Research and Web Sites
E&LE-AOE Administrative Information - Expanded Description
Students
Faculty

What is Ecosystem and Landscape Ecology?

According to R.T.T. Forman and Michel Godron in Landscape Ecology (1986, John Wiley and Sons):

"Landscape Ecology is the study of structure, function and change in a heterogeneous land area composed of interacting ecosystems.

It therefore focuses on:

Z. Naveh and A. Lieberman in Landscape Ecology: Theory and Application (1994, Springer-Verlag) state:

"Landscape ecology is a young branch of modern ecology that deals with the interrelationship between man and his open and built-up landscapes.

Landscape ecology evolved in central Europe as a result of the holistic approach adopted by geographers, ecologists, landscape planners, designers, and managers in their attempt to bridge the gap between natural, agricultural, human and urban systems.

The discipline of landscape ecology is ... not merely ... a spatial ramification of population, community and ecosystem ecology for the study of the ecology of landscapes, but also an innovative, dynamic and integrative field of environmental study and action in its own right, dealing with landscapes as tangible ordered wholes of natural and human systems at different scales and dimensions."

Editors C.G. Jones and J.H. Lawton present many different definitions of Ecosystem Ecology in the book Linking Species and Ecosystem (1995, Chapman and Hall)

"Questions in ecosystem ecology commonly focus on material and energy fluxes (e.g. Odum 1971; Schlesinger 1991)."

N.B. Grimm (Ch. 1): "Ecological investigations of ecosystem functioning may be aimed at understanding effects of ecosystem processes, interactions, and components on their context, or on the larger system of which ecosystems are a part."

J.F. Franklin (Ch. 31): "Ecosystem scientists are empirical and, often, applied in orientation. Typically, they are associated with professional schools -- forestry, fisheries, or range science -- or have geophysical backgrounds. In addition, they have a holistic outlook and may focus on material and energy cycles, for example. Ecosystem scientists may be less committed to the predictability of nature, often emphasizing probabilities, stochastic processes, and chaos."

[Return to Index at Top]


Related Research and Web Sites

Landscape Ecology

The International Association of Landscape Ecology
Membership in IALE
Other Links of Interest

Ecological Publishers

Chapman and Hall
Chapman and Hall - New
John Wiley and Sons
LIfe Science Journals
Publishers' Catalogues Home Page
Springer-Verlag

Grant Opportunities

Education Grant - Search Results
NASA Mission to Planet Earth

Job Listings

Environmental Careers World Online
GeoSearch
GIS Jobs Clearinghouse
FedWorld Jobs, Labor and Management
USDA Forest Service
Federal OPM Job Listings
NASA Ames Research Center
Dept. of the Interior Listings
The Monster Job Board

[Return to Index at Top]


Administrative Information

More information will be available soon from the Graduate Group in Ecology's Web Site.

1. Description
2. Faculty
3. Administrative Structure
4. Student Requirements
5. ELE AOE Coursework
6. ELE AOE Faculty Members

Contact: Silvia Hillyer, schillyer@ucdavis.edu

[Return to Index at Top]


E&LE-AOE Students

Official AOE Students

Jennifer Brown (completed PhD degree) Congratulations!
Steve Culberson, sbculberson@poppy.engr.ucdavis.edu
Alejandro Flores
Steve Greco, segreco@ucdavis.edu
Jeff Kennedy, jakennedy@ucdavis.edu
Robyn Myersrlmyers@ucdavis.edu
Eric Sanderson
Emily Schwalen
Michelle Stevens
Connie Wade
Machelle Wilson, mdwilson@ucdavis.edu

[Return to Index at Top]


Faculty in the ELE AOE

AOE Faculty

Conrad Bahre
Michael Barbour
Caroline Bledsoe, csbledsoe@ucdavis.edu
Robert Flocchini, rgflocchini@ucdavis.edu
Ted Foin, tcfoin@ucdavis.edu
Seymour Gold
Alan Hastings, amhastings@ucdavis.edu
Michael Johnson, johnson@ucdavis.edu
Robert Johnston
J. Heinrich Lieth
John Menke
Ben Orlove, bsorlove@ucdavis.edu
Kyau Paw U, ktpawu@ucdavis.edu
Robert Pearcy, rwpearcy@ucdavis.edu
Richard Plant, replant@ucdavis.edu
Eliska Rejmankova, erejmankova@ucdavis.edu
Jim Richards, jhrichards@ucdavis.edu
Christine Schonewald, cmscox@ucdavis.edu
Marlyn Shelton
Howard Spero
Robert Thayer
Jerold Theis
Susan Ustin, slustin@ucdavis.edu
Lin Wu, llwu@ucdavis.edu

[Return to Index at Top]